New Stories

Stream Your Heart Out: What to Listen to

by Kaylee Hauck


Genre: R&B, Hip-hop

Album: 130 Mood: TRBL

Songs: “Pour Up,” “I’m Not Sorry”


Dean, born Kwon Hyuk, is a R&B singer-songwriter hailing from Seoul, South Korea. Dean has been releasing, writing, and producing songs in both the Korean and American music industry since 2013.

Before his debut in 2015, Dean wrote music and lyrics for popular Korean groups such as EXO and VIXX.

In March of 2016, Dean released his first solo EP, 130 Mood: TRBL. Although he sings in primarily Korean, Dean’s mix of soothing vocals with R&B beats on the EP will leave you craving more, even if you’re not exactly sure what he’s saying.

Highlights from 130 Mood: TRBL include the song “Bonnie & Clyde,” which follows the story of a couple on the verge of a breakup that will have you swaying along to the calming beat. Another highlight is “D (Half Moon),” which features rapper Gaeko from Dynamic Duo. The song talks about missing a significant other after breaking up and will have your heart aching by the end.

Dean also has multiple songs in English. Before releasing his EP, Dean collaborated on songs with the likes of Anderson Paak (“Put My Hands On You”) and Grammy Award winner John Bellinger (“I’m Not Sorry”).

All of Dean’s music is available for streaming on Apple Music and Spotify, as well as his Youtube channel. So if you’re feeling adventurous, check out Dean’s music and find yourself falling in love with his hypnotizing vocals and catchy beats.


Genre: Electropop

Album: Bad Blood, Wild World

Songs: “Bad Blood,” “Good Grief”


If you’ve never heard of the British electropop band Bastille, you’ve definitely been missing out.

Bastille is a four-member group founded by lead singer Dan Smith in 2010. Originally, Bastille only consisted of Smith, but eventually the three other members joined the group.

Bastille’s first full-length album, called “Bad Blood,” was released in March 2013. The album reached the top of the UK Album Charts, as well as charting on the US Billboard 200. The album mixes together synthesizer with string arrangements and Smith’s powerful vocals create nothing short of a breathtaking masterpiece. Noteworthy songs from the album include “Bad Blood,” the title track, as well as “Pompeii” and “Laura Palmer.”

On Sept. 9, Bastille released their new album “Wild World.” The album is 19 songs long. Highlights include “Good Grief,” the catchy opening track to the album, as well as “Fake It,” a song that will make you want to close your eyes and never stop running.

Bastille’s music is available on most streaming websites, including Apple Music and Spotify.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: