New Stories

Play Your Heart Out: “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Cowabunga Collection”

by: James Mainier

Photo Courtesy of Nintendo Life

“Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Cowabunga Collection” is a retro game collection of 11 different games, all TMNT content, with a $40 price tag. It was released on Aug. 30. This game was released for the Nintendo Switch, Playstation 4 and 5, and Xbox consoles. The games included in the collection are:

  1. “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles”
  2. “TMNT: Turtles in Time”
  3. “TMNT IV: Turtles in Time”
  4. “TMNT: Tournament Fighters”
  5. “TMNT: The Hyperstone Heist”
  6. “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles “(1st game)
  7. “TMNT II: The Arcade Game”
  8. “TMNT III: The Manhattan Project”
  9. “TMNT: Fall of the Foot Clan”
  10. “TMNT II: Back from the Sewers”
  11. “TMNT III: Radical Rescue”

All these games were originally released during the 1980s and 1990s. The title screen is colorful and has an opening cartoon. The menus are a little confusing, since there are 11 games with similar titles. It’s hard to keep track of what game you are currently playing. When you save your progress, you might want to write down your current game.

There is a “god” mode and various buffs allowing you to tweak your gameplay experience. There is also a wide screen option to play with no visual bars. If you buy this game collection, you get all of the TMNT games ever made except the new one that released by itself earlier this year, titled, “TMNT: Shredder’s Revenge”. The platforms of the original releases of the games vary from the Arcade, Sega Genesis, Nintendo, Super Nintendo, and Gameboy.

You might be wondering, “How does it play?”

It is very tight. Some of the games allow you to play multiplayer on a single television and also online. I finished one of the games, “TMNT: Turtles in Time”, and I set the screen to widescreen, put “god” mode on, and added a perk where combat and movement by the character you control is increased. I finished that particular game in about a half hour.

The first game, TMNT, does not have “god” mode, but it does have a rewind feature. It would have been nice to have “god” mode for that game, since it is the toughest game in the collection to play.

Is it worth the $40 price tag?

In my opinion, yes. However, if you haven’t played these games when you were a kid, it’s harder to get into them as they are outdated. This collection is more set up for the nostalgia aspect as opposed to containing awesome long-lasting games.

For what it’s worth, “The Cowabunga Collection” gets a 9 out of 10 score review.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Editorial: Register to Vote by Oct. 25 to Protect your Loved Ones – The Insider

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: